You shouldn’t have any problems with a campaign launch in Amazon Seller Central because there is a small range of options compared to Google AdWords or Bing Ads.

The main point is to decide in which way you will create your campaigns and adgroups based on your product cost, product type, brand etc. You will have different options for campaigns optimization because of the options you choose at the start.

Let’s learn how to set up campaigns step by step:

 

At the beginning, you must enter the campaign name, set a daily budget, date range, and targeting type.

You shouldn’t use automatic targeting, because you can’t add your own keywords to the campaign with this option. In this case, the system will automatically add new keywords to your campaign, based on your products. This can lead to the fact that you will demonstrate your products and ads to an irrelevant audience.

We are interested in “manual targeting”, which allows us to add new keywords to the campaign by ourselves. So, in this way you can add and test exactly those particular keywords, which are better for advertising and are most relevant to your products in your opinion.

Then, you have to create adgroups and add there products from the same category, e.g. manicure sets of the same brand. In the future, you can easily optimize it and check the performance of the exact product and edit bids.

Then, you need to add keywords for the products you want to advertise. You can choose keywords from system suggestions and provide your own keywords too. Also, you can set your bids for keywords at this step.

Please note that all the keywords you’ll add from suggestions are in broad match. You can change this option to phrase or exact match for keywords which you add by yourself.

Also, you can use third-party services to find new keyword ideas. For example, you can use Sonar – it’s a tool which can help you find new keywords.

Some suggestions regarding keywords research that we’ve collected are listed below:

  • Don’t use product IDs.
  • Don’t add information which can mislead your customers.Type keywords in a logical way.
  • Don’t use symbols like : or ; or ,
  • Don’t use such words as “good”, “perfect”, “high-quality” etc. most customers don’t’ use these keywords in their research.
  • Don’t add keywords with mistakes.
  • So, your campaign creating is ended and now you can add new adgoups, keywords, negative keywords and new ads.

Example of adding new keywords:

Example of adding new negative keywords on the campaign and adgroup levels:

Please note that you can add negative keywords in phrase and exact match only.

Example of adding new ads:

Right there in ads tab you can see your ads and products performance, disable products with high ACoS (Advertising Cost of Sale) etc.

Campaigns optimization

Let’s start with the keywords analysis. In keywords report you can see: how many impressions, clicks, sales and spend you had for each keyword. Also, you can check which products were sold and revenue you got due to these keywords.

Note that you can see reports for 3 last months only and you don’t have a possibility to compare data with previous periods.  Also, your Sales and ACoS data will be added in 48 hours, so you can’t see real-time data and performance.

Thanks to this data you can change your bids for keywords and change their cost in this way. Also, you can use “suggested bid” option to change it.

ACoS index can show you effectiveness according to advertising spend. It’s a percentage of direct sales which you got in advertising campaigns. You can calculate ACoS with the following formula: ad spend/revenue*100. For example, if you spent $2 on ads and got $20 in revenue – your ACoS will be 10%.

You can use report by search queries to add new negative or positive keywords. You can use this report on campaign and adgroups levels. To see this report – you must download it in excel format. There is no option to see this data in web interface like you can do it in Google AdWords.

To get this report you should go to reports tab, choose report type and create the report. You can’t create reports older than 3 months. All new and old reports will be shown below the creation.